Twenty-five awards were presented at the 2018 New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards dinner in Auckland on Sunday night.

Horse of the Year: Bonneval (40 votes)
Also: Avantage (15), Kawi (3), Savvy Coup (2), Vin De Dance (1).

NZTR Award for Outstanding Contribution to Racing: Nelson Schick.

Champion Two-Year-old: Avantage (60).
Other finalists: Sword Of Osman (1), Melt, Spanish Whisper.

Champion Three-Year-Old – sponsored by FastTrack Insurance:  Savvy Coup (28).
Other finalists: Vin De Dance (20), Dijon Bleu (5), Embellish (4), Age Of Fire (1), Scott Base (1).

Champion Sprinter-Miler (up to 1600m): Kawi (48).
Other finalists: Close Up (7), Gingernuts (3), Start Wondering (3).

Champion Middle Distance Horse (1601m-2200m): Bonneval (58).
Other finalists: Lizzie L’Amour (3), Jon Snow, Saint Emilion.

Champion Stayer (2201m +): Charles Road (27).
Other finalists: Ladies First (24), Zacada (6), Five To Midnight (2).

Champion Jumper: Wise Men Say (52).
Other finalists: Monarch Chimes (5), Upper Cut (4), Zedeedudadeeko.

Trainer of the Year – sponsored by Dunstan: Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman (61).
Other finalist: Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards.

Jockey of the Year: Sam Collett (42).
Other finalists: Opie Bosson (12), Johnathan Parkes (3), Chris Johnson (1).

Jumps Jockey of the Year: Isaac Lupton (39).
Other finalists: Aaron Kuru (22), Will Gordon (1), Shaun Phelan, Charlie Studd.

Owner of the Year – sponsored by New Zealand Racing Board: JML Bloodstock (22).
Other finalists: Archer Equine Investments (20), Emma Evans (7), Bromley Bloodstock (4), Kevin Hickman (2), Sir Peter Vela (2), Kamada Racing Partnership.

New Zealand Strapper of the Year – sponsored by Chris Waller:  Jane Davidson (employed by Mike Breslin).
Other finalists: Garry Barlow, Renee Larkins.

NZTR Award for Contribution to Media, Digital & Content: Boys Get Paid.
Other finalists: Brian de Lore, Aidan Rodley, Maryanne Twentyman & Greg O’Connor.

Breeder of the Year:  Waikato Stud & Garry Chittick (breeders of Savvy Coup, Embellish, Hasahalo & Ocean Emperor).
Other finalists: Willie & Karen Calder, Christopher Grace, Nearco Stud.

Broodmare of the Year: Bagalollies (dam of Werther, Gobstopper & Milseain).
Other finalists: Stylish Bel, Zalika.

Trainers’ Premiership: Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman.

Jockeys’ Premiership: Sam Collett.

Apprentice Jockeys’ Premiership: Sam Weatherley.

Owners’ Premiership: Sir Peter Vela.

Newcomer to Training – sponsored by gavelhouse.com: Andrew Carston.

Grosvenor Award (stallion earnings in NZ): Savabeel.

Dewar Stallion Trophy (stallion earnings in New Zealand and Australia): Savabeel.

Centaine Award: (stallion earnings worldwide): Savabeel.

New Zealand Bloodstock Filly of the Year: Dijon Bleu.


This product has been added to your cart